For the second straight year, the Shafter Generals are South Sequoia League Tournament champions on the wrestling mat.

Shafter had 11 wrestlers advance to championship rounds with eight of them winning first place medals during Thursday’s SSL Tournament at McFarland. The three competitors that fell short all advanced to overtime of their title matches.

Shafter’s individual champions were Keith Vazquez (113 pound weight class), Christian Garza (120), Anthony Perez (126), Eli Gonzales (132), Mike Carranza (145), Nate Gonzalez (160), Rafa Zamudio (170) and Anthonie Banuelos (182).

Perez (lightweight) and Banuelos (upper weight) also took home outstanding wrestler awards for the tournament. The awards were provided by the Coyote Club.

Other individual champions were Jimmy Macias (Chavez, 106); James Fulce (BCHS, 138); Eduardo Santoyo (Kennedy, 152); Brian Schuler (BCHS, 195); Gerardo Aisturo (McFarland, 220); and Jesus Amaya (McFarland, 285).

The team scores went as follows: Shafter (233 points), Kennedy (134), Chavez (131), Wasco (110), McFarland (106), BCHS (84) and Arvin (28).

Shafter also won the junior varsity championship.