It was bad timing for Cody Laney and perfect timing for Brad Pounds.

Laney got caught up with slower traffic while leading the IMCA Modified feature on Saturday night at Bakersfield Speedway and Pounds led the rest of the way for his first win of the year.

But it was more than just a win. The victory came in the seventh annual Richie McGowan Memorial race. Pounds is married to McGowan’s daughter, Tina.

“It means a lot,” Pounds said of the victory “I wish my wife could have done better (14th in in Sport Mods). It’s an important race for us. Been trying to win it for a few years now. I’m lucky everything fell in place.

“It was a tough break for Cody. I think we had a good hot rod and could have given him a run for his money. We’ll take it how we get it now. It’s been a while since I’ve been to victory lane.”

The race-changing incident came on the 21st lap in turn four as Laney was high and Pounds, battling for the lead, was low. Laney and the slower car, driven by Bill Wilker, made contact and the two cars ended up in the infield.

Pounds led the rest of the way in the 30-lapper.

Kyle Heckman finished second, followed by Robby Sawyer, Bret Bennett and Shane Devolder.

Michael Scruggs led from start to finish to win the 32-lap Hobby Stock feature. The 32 laps is the traditional distance, in honor of McGowan’s old racing number.

“Ever since I started racing in 2016 I’ve wanted to win this race, Richie was a great dude,” Scruggs said.

Nicholas Johnson battled Scruggs most of the way and just came up short on a pass attempt in turn four on the final lap.

Trevor Baker finished third, followed by Nick Spainhoward and Marcus Wankum.

Holder wins at KCRP

Roger Holder raced to his second straight Super Stock victory on Saturday night at Kern County Raceway.

Holder, who won his previous race in a near dead heat, finished just two-tenths of a second ahead of Paul Ebersbacher in the 35-lapper. Ron Cross finished third.

The Lucas Oil Modified Series made it’s only stop of the season at the track and Jason Irwin turned the 75-lap feature into a runaway, winning by more than 11 seconds over Dylan Cappello. Justin Johnson was third.

The Legends competed in a pair of races with Braden Rogers winning both and Josh Ayers finishing second in both. Colton Page ran third in the first race and Eddie Garone was third in the second.

In Bandoleros, Kercie Jung raced to her fourth win through five races. Seth Wise was second with Riley Massey third.

Will Simco won the Skid Plate race.

Mike Griffith can be reached at 661 395-7390. Follow him on Twitter at @MikeGriffith54. 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.