Liberty High's Dylan Tooker breaks free from Bakersfield High School Romero Mcghee at Liberty High School Friday night.

Two of Bakersfield’s recently crowned league champions were rewarded with first-round byes in the Central Section football playoffs that start Friday.

Liberty (9-1), which captured its third straight Southwest Yosemite League title received the No. 3 seed in Division I and will play the winner between No. 11 Clovis West (3-7) and host No. 6 Clovis North (6-4). The Patriots defeated the Golden Eagles 17-7 in Week 3 this season.

Other local Division I teams will be in action this week. Bakersfield High (5-5), which finished second in the SWYL, received the No. 7 seed and will host No. 10 Clovis East (4-6). South Yosemite League champion Ridgeview (7-3) is seeded No. 8 and will play at home against No. 9 Tulare Union (8-2), which finished second in the East Yosemite League.

Two-time defending D-I champion Fresno Central (10-0) is seeded No. 1, with Clovis Buchanan (8-2) No. 2. The Bears handed the Patriots their only defeat this season, 19-17 in Week 4.

Southeast Yosemite League champion Highland also has a bye this week, along with SYL runner-up Bakersfield Christian in Division III.

The Eagles (7-3) are the No. 2 seed and will play the winner of No. 10 West (4-6) at No. 7 Lemoore (4-6) matchup. The No. 4 Scots (9-1) will host No. 5 Visalia-Golden West (6-4). Both games are scheduled for Nov. 15.

In Division II, No. 9 Garces (4-6) will play at No. 8 Frontier (5-5) and Stockdale (5-5) will travel to No. 7 Santa Maria-Righetti (7-3).

South Sequoia League co-champions Shafter (6-4) and Chavez (8-2) each received a No. 5 seed. The Titans in D-IV and the Generals in D-V.

Shafter will host Arvin (5-5), while Chavez will be at home against Morro Bay (3-7). Kennedy (8-2), East (7-3) and North (6-4) will also have home games in D-IV. No. 11 Santa Maria (5-5) plays at No. 6 RFK, the No. 7 Blades host No. 10 Wasco (5-5), while No. 9 Kerman (4-6) will play at the No. 8 Stars on Friday.

In Division VI, California City (8-2) is the No. 2 seed and will host No. 15 McFarland (3-7), while No. 8 Foothill (4-6) will host Minarets (5-5). Mojave earned the No. 1 seed among 8-man teams.

Central Section football playoff seedings and schedule

Division I: 1. Fresno-Central; 2. Clovis-Buchanan; 3. Liberty; 4. Fresno-Bullard; 5. Clovis; 6. Clovis North; 7. Bakersfield; 8. Ridgeview; 9. Tulare Union; 10. Clovis East; 11. Clovis West; 12. Arroyo Grande.

Division II: 1. Hanford; 2. Fresno-San Joaquin Memorial; 3. Visalia-Redwood; 4. Sanger; 5. Tulare Western; 6. Santa Maria-St. Joseph; 7. Santa Maria-Righetti; 8. Frontier; 9. Garces; 10. Stockdale; 11. Nipomo; 12. Fresno-Sunnyside; 13. Dinuba; 14. Atascadero.

Division III: 1. Kingsburg; 2. Bakersfield Christian; 3. San Luis Obispo; 4. Highland; 5. Visalia-Golden West; 6. Madera; 7. Lemoore; 8. Visalia-Central Valley Christian; 9. South; 10. West.

Division IV: 1. Fresno-Washington Union; 2. Selma; 3. Templeton; 4. Porrterville; 5. Chavez; 6. Kennedy; 7. East; 8. North; 9. Kerman; 10. Wasco; 11. Santa Maria; 12. Morro Bay; 13. Fresno-Hoover; 14. Fresno-Roosevelt.

Division V: 1. Caruthers; 2. Oakhurst-Yosemite; 3. Dos Palos; 4. Strathmore; 5. Shafter; 6. Woodlake; 7. Tulare-Mission Oak; 8. Reedley’ 9. Reedley-Immanuel; 10. Madera South; 11. Exeter; 12. Arvin; 13. Taft; 14. Liberty M/R; 15. Firebaugh; 16. Coalinga.

Division VI: 1. Bishop Union; 2. California City; 3. Orosi; 4. Riverdale; 5. Lindsay; 6. San Luis Obispo-Mission Prep; 7. Hanford-Sierra Pacific; 8. Foothill; 9. Minarets; 10. Kern Valley; 11. Mira Monte; 12. Parlier; 13. Corcoran; 14. Porterville-Granite Hills; 15. McFarland; 16. Boron.

8-man: 1. Mojave; 2. Riverdale Christian; 3. Orcutt Academy; 4. Lone Pine.

Friday’s first-round schedule

Division I: Arroyo Grande at Clovis; Clovis West at Clovis North; Clovis East at Bakersfield; Tulare Union at Ridgeview. Central, Buchanan, Liberty and Bullard have byes.

Division II: Atascadero at Redwood; Dinuba at Sanger; Sunnyside at Tulare Western; Nipomo at St. Joseph; Stockdale at Righetti; Garces at Frontier. Hanford and San Joaquin Memorial have byes.

Division III: West at Lemoore; South at Central Valley Christian. Kingsburgh, Bakersfield Christian, San Luis Obispo, Highland, Golden West and Madera have byes.

Division IV: Roosevelt at Templeton; Hoover at Porterville; Morro Bay at Chavez; Santa Maria at Kennedy; Wasco at East; Kerman at North. Washington Union and Selma have byes.

Division V: Coalinga at Caruthers; Firebaugh at Yosemite; Liberty M/R at Dos Palos; Taft at Strathmore; Arvin at Shafter; Exeter at Woodlake; Madera South at Mission Oak; Immanuel at Reedley.

Division VI: Boron at Bishop; McFarland at California City; Granite Hills at Orosi; Corcoran at Riverdale; Parlier at Lindsay; Mira Monte at Mission Prep; Kern Valley at Sierra Pacific; Minarets at Foothill.

8-man: Lone Pine at Mojave; Orcutt Academy at Riverdale Christian.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.