Player of the Year: Erik Buetow, senior, Bakersfield Christian - The senior never lost to a Kern County opponent in three seasons at Bakersfield Christian. The senior will concentrate on his studies next year at UCLA after finishing his three-year career at BCHS with an 82-7 record and went 29-2 the past two season, finishing as the Central Section runner-up in the singles championships in 2018 and this spring. 

Doubles Team of the Year: Phillip Shafik and Sam Guimte, Liberty - The two-time BVarsity All-Area Doubles Team of the Year finished the season with a 16-1 record, winning the Southwest Yosemite League doubles title and were seeded second in the Central Section tournament before an injury to Guimte forced the duo to forfeit the remainder of the postseason.

Coach of the Year: Stephanie Ollivier, Liberty 

First team

Michael Blaine, junior, Liberty - Was 15-1 overall this season and undefeated in league play and advanced with Reid Zierenberg as a doubles team to the section tournament.

Juan Contreras, senior, West - Went 22-5 this season in singles play with three of those losses coming to Buetow while advancing to the South Area semifinals.

Andrew Huang, senior, Stockdale - Finished the season with a 15-8 record while playing partially in the No. 1 spot. Finished third in the SWYL and advanced to the section tournament.

Nathan Kwon, junior, Stockdale - Finished the season with a 19-8 record in singles play. Won the SWYL singles title and advanced to the section tournament quarterfinals.

Lukas Marussig, sophomore, Bakersfield Christian - Was 18-4 in singles play and 6-3 in doubles action with Caleb Bloemhof, advancing to the section doubles quarterfinals.

Brett Yackovich, freshman, Centennial - The No. 1 singles player for the Golden Hawks finished the season with a 19-5 record in singles action, advancing to section tournament.

Second team

Connor Adkins, senior, Liberty

Palmer Bank, freshman, Garces

Patrick Blaine, sophomore, Garces

Caleb Bloemhof, senior, Bakersfield Christian

Ethan Buttram, senior, Bakersfield

Ethan Park, senior, Stockdale

Diego Perez, junior, Golden Valley

Reid Zierenburg, senior, Liberty

Honorable mention

Arvin: Bryan Marquez, Dylan Mendoza

Bakersfield: Chris Hoss

East: Miguel Garcia

Highland: Alex Alvarez, Keshan Patel

Independence: Danilo Zapeta

Liberty: Sage Nguyen

North: Michael Doten, Paul Hernandez

Ridgeview: Brian Sanchez

South: Eduardo Garcia

Stockdale: Sun Choi, Vivek Gupta

Taft: Ruldolpho Magana

Tehachapi: Mathew Bilotta

West: Marco De Jesus, Peter May, Edgar Ojeda

Wasco: Peter Chavez, Juan Rios

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.