Golfer of the Year: Dakota Ochoa, senior, Liberty - The Chico State-bound senior led the Southwest Yosemite League with a 71.57 tournament average. Also shot a 2-over-73 at the South Area championships at Sundale Country Club and had the top score for a Kern County golfer at the Central Section Championships with an even-par-71 and advanced to the CIF Southern California Regional Championships.

Coach of the Year: Kirk Bowyer, Liberty

First team

David Chhuon Chan, freshman, Stockdale - The freshman finished third in the SWYL with a 74.14 average, shot a 74 at South Area and a 2-over-73 at the section championships.

Karl Chawengchawali, senior, Garces - Then senior was sixth in the SWYL with a 79 average, shot an 80 at South Area and kicked it up a notch with a 75 at section championships.

Adam Duncan, sophomore, Liberty - The two-time All-Area first-team selection was fourth in the SWYL (75.43) and shot a 73 at section championships, advancing to SoCal regionals.

Hayden Hughes, junior, Liberty - Finished fifth in the SWYL with a 75.86 average, shot a 72 at South Area and a 73 at section championships, advancing to SoCal regionals.

Maverick Pavletich, senior, Garces - Shot even-par-72 during SWYL play, won the South Area individual title with a 71 and shot a 73 at the section championships, missing SoCal on card-off.

Madhav Raja, sophomore, Highland - Led the Southeast Yosemite League with a 79 average while shooting a 75 to advance to section championships where he shot a 76.

Second team

Dylan Briscoe, senior, Garces

Dalton Jones, junior, Ridgeview

Drew Jordon, junior, Frontier

Jacob Maran, senior, Bakersfield Christian

Ryan Paulson, senior, Stockdale

Octavio Romero, junior, North

Giancarlo Sacco, sophomore, Garces

Donovan Simos, junior, Frontier

Honorable mention

Bakersfield: Paul Dahm, Conner Kent, Carson Parks

Bakersfield Christian: Canon Mcclain, Tanne Mcclain, Eric Schroeder

Chavez: Anthony Sanchez

Frontier: Caleb Jameson

Garces: Nick Cinquemani, Palmer Bank

Liberty: Matt Stennitt

Rosamond: Brayden Snyder

Shafter: Daniel Denogean, Aaron Millwee

Stockdale: John Beck, Justin Yang

Taft: Spencer Cole, Dawson Lopez

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.