Player of the Year


Kahlaijah Dean, Independence

Kahlaijah Dean, junior, Independence

Did a lot of everything for the Falcons, averaging a team-high 13.5 points a game, leading Independence to a third consecutive Central Section Division II title and also averaging a team-high 6.5 rebounds, tallying 3.3 assists and 3.1 steals per game.


First Team

Jiana Boston

Jiana Boston, Stockdale

Jiana Boston, junior, Stockdale

Helped lead the Mustangs to a 22-9 record and the D-I quarterfinals. The first-team all-Southwest Yosemite League guard averaged 14.1 points and three assists a game.

Taylor Caldwell

Taylor Caldwell, BHS

Taylor Caldwell, junior, Bakersfield

The SWYL MVP was a do-it-all guard for Drillers. Led team with 15.5 points, 8.3 rebounds, 6.5 assists, 5.4 steals and 2.9 blocks and helped BHS advance to the D-II section finals.

Dana Degraffenreid

Dana DeGraffenreid, Ridgeview

Dana Degraffenreid, senior, Ridgeview

The Sacramento State-bound forward was the South Yosemite League co-MVP. She averaged 20.3 points and scored more than 30 points twice.

Jasmin Dixon

Jasmin Dixon, Independence

Jasmin Dixon, senior, Independence

Led the Falcons to a third consecutive section D-II title. The Cal State Bakersfield-bound guard averaged 14.5 points, 3.7 assists and 2.9 steals and finished her career with a school-record 1,402 points.

Aaryn Pickett

Aaryn Pickett, Stockdale

Aaryn Pickett, junior, Stockdale

Like Boston, Pickett was a first-team SWYL guard and also averaged 14.1 points per game. She also averaged three steals per game.

Kameron Taylor

Kameron Taylor, BCHS

Kameron Taylor, senior, Bakersfield Christian

A dynamic scorer, she led the section with 24.1 points per game. Scored at least 20 points in final 11 games, helping BCHS advance to the SoCal D-V quarterfinals.


Second team

Dasia Wandick, junior, Independence

Raleigh Tarver, senior, Arvin

Marijane Jones, junior, East

Tori Dunn, senior, Golden Valley

Lexus Green, sophomore, Garces

Janaye Herron, senior, Highland

Honorable mention

Arvin: Brianna Mendez, Cati Sydney

Bakersfield: Kiara Frink, McKenna Hsiung, Taylor Linzie

Bakersfield Christian: Annie Filkins

Garces: Jasmine Scott

Golden Valley: Elyssa Brumfield, Taja Holiday-Ball

East: Jackie Mejorado

Foothill: Jasmyn Rodriguez

Frontier: Ashlie Freeman, Ashlyn Queen

Highland: Chloe Agerton

Independence: Jai’auna Kinder

Kennedy: Diana Garcia

Kern Valley: Hannah Hurley, Aliyah Johnson

Liberty: Lanie Jackson, Alexis Love

Mira Monte: Angelina Bolanos, Myra Guzman

North: Jessica Pearl

Ridgeview: Katrina Cantu, Hailee Edwards

Rosamond: Kayla Sarmiento

Shafter: Monica Birruta, Felicia Chacon, Veda Lewis

South: Amyah Johnson

Stockdale: Ciannah Hayes, Naomi Jennings

Taft: Jasmine Miles

Tehachapi: Fiona Ferry, Teagan Thurman

West: Sierra Sartin

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.