Runner of the Year

Jacob Yagers, Highland, junior: Finished 11th in Division 2 at CIF State meet. Won the Central Section Division 2 title. Southeast Yosemite League champion. Won 11 of the 14 races he competed in this year, finishing second in the other three.

Coach of the Year

Greg Dabbs, Ridgeview: Guided the Wolf Pack to the Central Section Division 2 title for its third straight Central Section championship after winning in Division 3 the previous two years. It is the first time a Bakersfield cross country team has won three straight.

First team

Ased Adus, Ridgeview, senior: Recovered from a serious back injury suffered during the summer to help lead Wolf Pack to third straight Central Section title. Finished second in the SYL championships and was third in Division 2 at section meet to qualify for state.

Alex Cuevas, Ridgeview, senior: Despite being sick most of the final month of the season, led the Wolf Pack to third straight section title. Won eight races, including the SYL championship, was second in Division 2 in section and finished 16th at CIF State meet.

Bryce Hill, Burroughs, junior: Won six races, including the Mojave River League championship, breaking several school records along the way. Finished fifth in Division 4 at the Southern Section meet and ninth at state.

Francis “Fex” Johnson, Foothill, senior: Finished third in Division 3 at the section championships to qualify for the state meet. Won six races and was second four times, including the SEYL championships. Posted personal records in 3-mile (15:04.2) and 5K (15:31.3).

Ethan Jones, Liberty, senior: Ran a personal-best 15:20.4 in the 5K to finish 13th in Division 1 at the CIF State meet. Only ran in six races this season, winning two of them, including the SWYL title. Also PR’d in the 3-mile (14:24.9).

Adham Maher, Stockdale, senior: Finished fourth in Division 1 at the Central Section meet to qualify for state. Placed second in the SWYL championships. Posted a personal record in 3-mile (14:47.6).

Juanathan Reyes Jr., Stockdale, senior: Posted personal-record times in four distances and finished third in the SWYL championships. Was eighth in Division 1 at the section meet to qualify for state.

Second team

Matthew Berry, Highland, junior

Payton Fox, Ridgeview, senior

Sergio Lizarraga, Bakersfield, sophomore

Jacob McNitt, Highland, junior

Cristian Mendoza, Stockdale, junior

Gerardo Moreno, Ridgeview, junior

Nathanael Rodriguez, East, sophomore

Boys honorable mention

Arvin: Abraham Castro, junior

Chavez: Elizier Sanchez, senior

Frontier: Peyton Leone, senior; Angel Pimentel, senior

Highland: Mario Gutierrez, senior; Matthew Medrano, junior

Independence: Anthony Gonzalez, junior

Kennedy: Patrick Espinoza, junior; Alfredo Rios Guerrero, junior

Liberty: Jaden Hart, senior; Nick Lopez, junior

Ridgeview: Jorge Galindo, sophomore; William Gonzalez, senior

Tehachapi: Mason Madden, junior

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.