The Kegley Institute of Ethics at Cal State Bakersfield is now accepting nominations for the 2020 Wendy Wayne Ethics Awards.

Nominations can be submitted online within the “Initiatives” tab at The deadline for nominations is Nov. 29.

The awards recognize people, youth and adults who inspire through their ethical commitment and actions to improve the lives of others in our community.

The awards honor CSUB alumna Wendy Wayne and celebrate individuals who stand out in their dedication to serving others. Given annually to one adult and one youth, the awards come with a $5,000 charitable donation or college scholarship.

Previous adult recipients include Daryl Thiesen, Judy Snyder, Pastor Manuel Carrizalez, Collen McGauley, Lance McCullah, Jan Hefner, Mayor Karen Goh and Dr. Thomas Larwood. Previous youth recipients include Yvette Flores, Navjyot Gill, Victoria Scoggan, Elizabeth Pelzer, Joseph Constantine, Carly Riddle and Yoceline Aguilar.

Questions can be directed to Michael D. Burroughs at or by calling KIE at (661) 654-6263.

Winners will be celebrated at an invitation-only ceremony at the Seven Oaks Country Club.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.