2017 BVarsity All-Area Boys Cross County graphic

2017 BVarsity Boys Cross Country All-Area Teams

First team

all area 1

Austin Garcia, Ridgeview

Felix Adamo

Austin Garcia, senior, Ridgeview - In his lone season at Ridgeview, the senior won the South Yosemite League title and the Central Section Division III crown in 16:09.

all area 1

Bryan Gaxiola, Ridgeview

Felix Adamo

Bryan Gaxiola, junior, Ridgeview - One of only three Kern Country runners to place at state. Finished 9th in D-III (15:55), leading Ridgeview to a sixth-place finish in the team standings.

all area 2

Marcus Mota, Stockdale

Felix Adamo

Marcus Mota, junior, Stockdale - Only a junior, won the Central Section Division I individual title in 15:30 while finishing 18th overall in D-I at the CIF State Cross Country Championships.

all area 1

Andrew Swanson, Frontier

Felix Adamo

Andrew Swanson, senior, Frontier - The Frontier senior was a state qualifier after finishing third in the Central Section Division III championships in 16:18 in Fresno at Woodward Park.

all area 1

Sebastian Garcia, South

Felix Adamo

Sebastian Garcia, senior, South - The top boys runner in the Southeast Yosemite League this season finished sixth in the Central Section Division II championships in 16:26.

Second team

Ased Adus, sophomore, Ridgeview

Alex Cuevas, sophomore, Ridgeview

Seth Diaz, senior, McFarland

Melecio Gonzalez, senior, McFarland

Nathan Jones, junior, Centennial

Joseph Mikhail, junior, Liberty

Honorable mention

Arvin: Abraham Castro, Juan Palma

Bakersfield: Juan Cadena, Charles Rous

Centennial: Jose Perez

Foothill: Sergio Carreno, Moses Jimenez, Francis Johnson

Golden Valley: Diego Perez

Highland: Adolfo Escudero, Peter Wykoff, Jacob Yagers

Kennedy: Rafael Gutierrez

Liberty: Juan Cadena, Eddie Estevez, Sebastian Hernandez, Ethan Jones, Jacob Resendez

McFarland: Jose Beltran, Josiah Diaz, Sammy Diaz, Jose Rodriguez

Mira Monte: Gustavo Lopez

North: Matthew Hakala, Smiley Sobarzno

Ridgeview: Payton Fox, Gerardo Moreno

Rosamond: Ulysses Arzate

Shafter: Misael Gutierrez, Rosario Lopez

South: Jerry Vasquez

Stockdale: Adham Maher

Wasco: David Martin, Juan Ramirez

West: Victor Chavez

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.