Buy Photo

Nick Ellis / Special to The Californian

BHS' Gonzalo Rolon, left, and Bullard's Alex Yokley battle for the ball during first half action at Bakersfield High.

The winter sports season officially came to an end Monday when the last of the BVarsity All-Area teams was published in The Californian. Here's a quick recap of the selections, with a reminder that you can see interviews with Braxton Huggins and C.J. West, the Boys and Girls Basketball Players of the Year, from last week's BVarsity Live show right here.

Now to the nitty-gritty:


Player of the Year: Braxton Huggins, sr, Mira Monte

There was lots of discussion in our office on this one. Huggins was undeniably one of Kern County's most talented player (and many coaches and scouts would tell you he was undeniably head and shoulders the best), but his team was 10-13 and just 1-7 in the South Yosemite League, hardly the area's toughest conference. But ultimately, we went with Huggins because he was third in the state scoring (32.2 points per game) with reasonably efficient shooting (46 percent from the floor, 37 percent from 3, 85 percent from the line) even though he was the only Lion that defenses had to be concerned with. It's possible that without Huggins (who missed two games with injury), Mira Monte goes winless or close to it. Christian Bayne, Kyle Ferreira and Rashad Jackson led their teams to league titles, but none had the type of carry-your-team performances in the playoffs that could have separated them. And in a year like that, Huggins was the choice.

Coach of the Year: Brian Dignan, Bakersfield Christian


G: Christian Bayne, sr, Stockdale

G: Kyle Ferreira, sr, Liberty

F: Rashad Jackson, sr, Garces

F: B.J. Shelton, sr, Bakersfield

C: Fatai Eke, sr, East

Util: Derek Check, sr, Centennial

Util: Isaiah Johnson, jr, Tehachapi


G: Isaac Clark, sr, Independence

G: Sheldon Croney, jr, Garces

F: Elray Coleman, sr, West

F: Robbie Purdy, jr, Stockdale

C: Richard Bivens, sr, Ridgeview

Util: Ryan Roodzant, sr, Bakersfield Christian

Util: Braylin Scott, jr, Liberty


Player of the Year:Celeste West, sr, Garces

Easy decision here. West was the best player in the county and was on the best team in the county. She averaged a double-double and combined for five steals and blocks per game, too, leading the Rams to a 31-4 record, the second Central Section title in program history and a state playoff berth.

Coach of the Year:Tod Denison, Garces


G: Kendyl Estes, sr, Shafter

G: Alyssa Gonzales, jr, Centennial

F: Niki Bragg, jr, Liberty

F: Olivia Espinoza, jr, Bakersfield Christian

C: Taylor Madden, soph, Centennial

Util: Chenoa Berumen, sr, Garces

Util: Rebecca Gallis, soph, Kern Valley


G: Alyssa Garcia, sr, Tehachapi

G: Zarhia McCollum, soph, Centennial

F: Zarreah Brown, jr, Ridgeview

F: Ashlee Cameron, sr, Garces

C: Ebony Sanders, soph, Independence

Util: Ariel Medina, sr, McFarland

Util: Kayla Scott, soph, Garces


Player of the Year:Gonzalo Rolon, Bakersfield

This could have gone several different ways, too. West and Wasco both had great seasons, and Chema Gonzalez at East scored a ton of goals for a good team. South High also had stars on offense (Denis Rivas) and defense (Jesus Barajas) that keyed the Rebels' surprising run to the Division III section title. But none had the combination of skill and production of Rolon, who has been invited to U.S. National Youth camps and was the most exciting player in the county for what was probably its best team.

Coach of the Year:Brian Smith, South


F: Chema Gonzalez, sr, East

F: Jorge Reyes, sr, Bakersfield

F: Denis Rivas, soph, South

M: Christian Canales, jr, Wasco

M: Colby Evans, jr, Bakersfield

M: Marshall Garcia, sr, West

M: Rudy Hernandez, sr, Golden Valley

M: Tyler Walsh, sr, Stockdale

D: Jesus Barajas, soph, South

D: Erik Jauergui, jr, Wasco

D: Calvin Laverty, sr, Liberty

D: David Martinez, sr, Independence

D: Aldo Portugal, sr, West

GK: Noah Stewart, sr, Frontier


F: Freddy Benitez, sr, Tehachapi

F: Edwin Bernal, jr, Foothill

F: Rey Hernandez, sr, West

F: Anthony Rodriguez, sr, Stockdale

M: Jacob Alatorre, jr, Highland

M: Jefferson Escobar, soph, South

M: Christian Garcia, soph, Ridgeview

M: Eduardo Gil, jr, Shafter

M: Adan Jauergui, Liberty

D: Maynor Alcaraz, sr, Golden Valley

D: Javier Fernandez, sr, Bakersfield

D: Joaquin Fonseca, sr, Foothill

D: Oswaldo Marquez, sr, Bakersfield

D: Adrian Mendoza, sr, Golden Valley

D: Roberto Sandoval, jr, McFarland

GK: Josh Epstien, sr, West

GK: Zack Satton, sr, Tehachapi


Co-Players of the Year:Lauren O'Connell, sr, Frontier, and Hannah Rehkopf-Wind, jr, Bakersfield Christian

To me, these were the standout candidates, and it was just too fitting to give them each a share of the honor. Rehkopf-Wind had an unbelievable season by any measurable standard, setting a section record with 82 goals. Eighty-two! But don't discount O'Connell, an elite defender who anchored a Titans defense that gave up no goals in 10 SWYL games and only four goals in all of 2014.

Coach of the Year: Max Bluemel, Frontier


F: Tala Haddad, sr, Stockdale

F: Lexie Kinney, sr, Liberty

F: Madison Todd, sr, Garces

M: Kristin Amarikwa, soph, Frontier

M: Morgan Collins, sr, Centennial

M: Erica Delgado, jr, Garces

M: Mackenzie Duerkson, sr, Liberty

M: Paige Jano, sr, Highland

M: Sabrina Miller, sr, Stockdale

M: Raegan Staib, jr, Bakersfield Christian

D: Arielle Joven, jr, Highland

D: Ashley Quintanilla, fr, East

D: Hannah Rogers, jr, Frontier

GK: Kate Hamilton, sr, Garces


F: Payton Armijo, soph, Highland

F: Cassandra Lopez, sr, McFarland

F: Danielle Vargas, sr, Highland

F: Julisa Vasquez, sr, Frontier

M: Claire Anspach, sr, Garces

M: Bethany Fitzsimmons, soph, Taft

M: Madison Jordan, soph, Bakersfield Christian

M: Anyssa Lopez, jr, East

M: Maddison Parks, jr, Centennial

D: Laney Carrasco, sr, Liberty

D: Mackayla Duerkson, soph, Liberty

D: Daisy Ramos, sr, McFarland

D: Victoria Womble, sr, Stockdale

GK: Tori Farris, sr, Stockdale


Wrestler of the Year:Bryce Martin, Bakersfield

If West was an easy choice, this was automatic. Martin was the area's only returning state medalist and was ranked in the nation's top 20 for most of the year at 170 pounds. He also finished as the area's top finisher in the state — second place. His only two losses came to Anthony Valencia of St. John Bosco, who is ranked third nationally and is one of the more impressive high school wrestlers you'll ever see. Martin, an Indiana signee, is right behind him.

Coach of the Year:Andy Varner/Anthony Box, Bakersfield


106 pounds: Navonte Demison, fr, Bakersfield

113: J.J. Figueroa, fr, Bakersfield

120: Carlos Herrera, jr, Bakersfield

126: Sean Nickell, sr, Bakersfield

132: Arik Onsurez, sr, Bakersfield

138: Josh Annis, jr, Bakersfield

145: Antonio Gutierrez, soph, Bakersfield

152: Andrew Lee, sr, Centennial

160: Jake Maas, sr, Liberty

182: Carlos Montejo, sr, Frontier

195: Josh Bailey, sr, Frontier

195: Jaccob Lopez, jr, Ridgeview

220: Travis Yarbrough, sr, Bakersfield

HWT: Mark Guerrero, sr, North


106: Matthew Bracamonte, soph, East

113: Fern Perez, jr, Foothill

120: Brock Welton, jr, Frontier

126: Josef Martin, soph, Stockdale

132: Fletcher Allen, sr, Tehachapi

138: Johnny Santore-Tovar, sr, Liberty

145: Michael Macias, jr, Wasco

152: Casper Lopez, sr, Wasco

160: Julio Fuentes, jr, Golden Valley

170: Jeremy Maas, fr, Liberty

182: Jose Robledo, sr, Wasco

195: Jacob Lucas, sr, North

220: Joseph Gonzalez, sr, Foothill

HWT: Jarrod Snyder, soph, Frontier