Buy Photo

Tom Macht/ Special to The Californian

Brad Pounds, left, battles Michael Johnson in an IMCA Modified heat race in August at Bakersfield Speedway.

Brad Pounds wrapped up the 2013 Bakersfield Speedway IMCA Modified Divison track championship late Saturday night with a third-place finish in the main event at the third-mile clay oval.

Ricky Childress won the race, and Robert Sanders was second.

Pounds won eight races and had two top-five finishes on his way to the title.


MADISON, Ill. -- John Force raced to his record 136th career victory and moved into position for a 16th Funny Car season title in the NHRA Midwest Nationals at Gateway Motorsports Park.

Force, 64, won for the second time this year, beating defending series champion Jack Beckman with a 4.097-second run at 310.13 mph in a Ford Mustang. Beckman had a 4.127 at 309.84 in a Dodge Charger.

Force is six points behind leader Matt Hagan with three events left.

Force beat Chad Head, Ron Capps and teammate Robert Hight to advance to the final round. Hagan, the top qualifier who entered the day with a 63-point lead over second-place Cruz Pedregon, lost to Beckman in the second round. Pedregon also lost in the first round.

"We've got a race now, and I'm excited," Force said. "I had a good day. The most important thing for me was to see the crowd. They filled the bleachers. To win a championship you've got to live it every day, and I'm not chasing a championship. I've been busy chasing corporate America and taking care of our sponsors.

Antron Brown won in Top Fuel, Erica Enders-Stevens topped the Pro Stock field, and Matt Smith won Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Brown raced to his third victory of the season and 40th overall, beating Khalid alBalooshi in the final. Brown finished in 3.788 at 323.97 for his second straight victory at the track.

Enders-Stevens also won for the second year in a row at the track, holding off Mike Edwards in the final with a 6.540 at 211.23 in a Chevrolet Camaro. Edwards regained the points lead with the runner-up finish.

In Pro Stock Motorcycle, Smith rode to his second victory of the season and moved into the series lead.


MONTEREY -- Yamaha's Josh Herrin won the AMA Pro SuperBike season title Sunday, and teammate Josh Hayes raced to his eighth victory of the season in the finale at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.

Herrin finished second, 13.434 seconds behind Hayes. Herrin edged Hayes by 15 points in the standings.

"This has been a life-long dream of mine and it's finally come true," Herrin said. "I can't even explain the emotions right now. Coming around that last lap, I just filled up with tears. I could barely see where I was going. I've never felt that kind of emotion before."