Buy Photo

Autumn Parry / The Californian

David Mayhew races his 2013 CITGO Late Model during qualifying rounds at Kern County Raceway Park on Saturday July 6, 2013.

David Mayhew climbed out of his car with a big smile on his face at the completion of racing Saturday night at Kern County Raceway Park.

Mayhew had plenty to be happy about after sweeping twin 35-lap CITGO Lubricant Late Models feature races for a second week in a row.

Mayhew dominated the second race, leading all but the first lap.

Eric Richardson finished second followed by Johnny White, Lance Wilson, and Lee Jensen.

"Eric's car was really fast," Mayhew said. "We had to get up to the front. Once we got out there I thought I had a pretty good lead, just driving it for all I can. I about wadded it up coming out of (turn) two one time. I lost a ton of time. I thought we done at that point but just kept the car straight for as much as I could and there at the end it started to come a live."

The first of the two Late Model main events was a much more hotly-contested affair.

Moments after the green flag dropped to initiate a restart with four to go, Mayhew dove inside in turn one and bumped Richardson, the leader, up the track to take the over the lead en route to the win.

Richardson, who led for 24 circuits around the half-mile paved oval, took control of the point position on lap nine, when he dove low in turn two and powered inside past White for the lead.

White led the previous six laps after he drove outside and around Wilson, the early-leader, who won the Late Model Trophy Dash.

"We had a good race going and he keeps washing up underneath me," Mayhew said describing the incident with Richardson. "I just got back up underneath him a little bit getting into (turn) one and got into him just a little bit. Didn't mean to. Just really trying to cross him up. It's racing. I'm glad he saved it and kept going."

White capitalized on Mayhew's late-race race bump-and-run of Richardson to finish second. Richardson held on for third. Wilson was fourth and Josh Horn took fifth.

Donny St. Ours of Upland turned in another strong performance in winning the 30-lap INEX Legends division.

By pulling a second straight sweep, Mayhew now has won 12 out 17 CITGO Late Model feature races

Coming up empty after being so close to victory twice in the same night wasn't easy for Richardson.

"It's extremely frustrating because we're good enough to win," Richardson said

St. Ours took the lead from Blaine Perkins with 18 laps to go and never looked back.

"I started losing brakes about 20 laps in," St. Ours said. "And I was having to back the corner up a lot. But it was a god race. I had to start from the back and pass some cars. It was really cool."

Ricky Schlick rallied from being at the very back of the field late in the race to take second. Perkins was third. Points leader Buddy Shepherd finished fourth and Brandon Weaver was fifth.

Tyler Bannister dominated the INEX Bandoleros 20-lap feature, leading from start to finish.

Bannister started on the outside of the front row and took over the point position in turn one of the first lap en route to his eighth win in nine main event races this year.

Bannister took the checkered flag 1.087 seconds ahead of second place Ryan Vargas. Colton Page took third. Braden Rogers came home in fourth and Gavyn Manning didn't finish but was fifth.

"I just wanted to get the lead and run away," Bannister said.

Jerry Flippo out-dueled Andrew Orlando to win the 20-lap Senior Mini Dwarfs main event.

Flippo led the rest of the way after he passed Orlando for the lead midway through the race. Orlando led the entire first half of the race.

With the win Flippo improved to six-for-six in feature races this year.

Unfortunately for Orlando he suffered some damage to his car with two laps remaining and had to take his car to the pits.

Despite the car problems he finished fifth.

Jeremy Clark was second followed by Ryley Millard, and Carter Enos.

Kyleigh Forster rebounded from early trouble to win the 20-lap Junior Mini Dwarfs feature.

After being involved in a first-lap incident that sent her to the back of the field, Forster, the division's points leader, quickly raced to the lead.

Troy Morris III was second followed by Kabe McClenny, Cheyenne Flippo, and Kercie Jung.

Only the top three cars finished the race on the lead lap.