SAN JOSE -- San Jose State rallied late Sunday to prevent Cal State Bakersfield from securing the outright Western Athletic Conference regular-season baseball title.

The Spartans scored five runs in the eighth inning to beat the Roadrunners 8-5 at Municipal Stadium, and CSUB settled for a share of the conference title with Texas-Arlington (30-25, 18-9 WAC).

Because the Roadrunners (35-21, 18-9) won two-of-three games against Arlington this season, they earned the tiebreaker for the No. 1 seed in the WAC tournament.

Frank Martinez hit an RBI single in a three-run fourth inning that gave the Roadrunners a 4-3 lead Sunday. CSUB reliever Chuck Buchanan, who replaced starter Jonathan Montoya, pitched 41/3 innings to preserve the lead through seven innings.

However, the Spartans tacked four runs on reliever James Barragan (0-2) and a fifth on Allen Gwynn in the decisive eighth-inning rally.

With the win, San Jose State earned the final seed in the WAC tournament.

Montoya allowed three runs and five hits over 22/3 innings, striking out one and walking one. Buchanan allowed just one hit, struck out seven and walked one in his extended relief appearance.

Mylz Jones led the Roadrunners offense, going 3-for-4 with a run. Leadoff hitter Oscar Sanay had a hit, two walks and two RBIs.

CSUB took one-of-three games in the final series of the regular-season, dropping late leads Friday and Sunday, but rallying for a win in Saturday's top-seed-clinching victory.

The No. 1-seed Roadrunners open their WAC tournament schedule Wednesday against No. 8 seed San Jose State at 1 p.m.

The eight-team, round-robin tournament will determine the conference champion and automatic representative to the NCAA tournament.

Teams are divided into two four-team pools, with each pool winner competiing for the championship Sunday. CSUB is in Pool A, along with No. 8 San Jose State, No. 5 Sacramento State and No. 4 Texas-San Antonio. Pool B features No. 2 Texas-Arlington, No. 3 Texas State. No. 6 New Mexico State and No. 7 Dallas Baptist.