1 of 7

Buy Photo

Rod Thornburg / Special to The Californian

Stockdale's Blake Haney has no competion around about halfway through the race.

2 of 7

Buy Photo


Abran Ayon, McFarland boys cross country

3 of 7

Buy Photo


Gustavo Delcastillo, West boys cross country

4 of 7

Buy Photo


Danny Garcia, McFarland boys cross country

5 of 7

Buy Photo

Brandon Kan, Frontier boys cross country

6 of 7

Buy Photo


Luiz Orozco, McFarland boys cross country

7 of 7

Buy Photo


Thomas Valles, McFarland boys cross country

Runner of the Year

Blake Haney, Stockdale, senior

Haney started the season in style, setting a course record with a 13:55 at the prestigious Woodbridge Invitational, and ended it with a runner-up finish at the Nike Cross Nationals in Portland, Ore. In between, the future Oregon Duck won league, county and section titles and finished third in the state's Division I race.

Abran Ayon, McFarland, junior

Finished sixth in the county championships in 15:38 and had the sixth-best local time (16:20) of the day in placing 11th in the Division II section championships. Best time of the season was 15:00.

Gustavo Delcastillo, West, senior

Ran a season-best 15:28 to place fourth at the county championships, then won the SYL title and placed second in the D-III section race with a 16:21. Also led the Vikings to an SYL team title.

Danny Garcia, McFarland, senior

Second only to Haney in the county championships (15:24) and among locals at the state meet (15:59), where he finished 40th to lead the Cougars in Division II. Garcia also blazed a 14:34 at the Seaside Invitational early in the season.

Brandon Kan, Frontier, senior

Finished second to Haney at all three SWYL mini-meets and in the league final (15:40). Kan finished fifth in the county (15:30) and ninth in the section Division III race (16:07) with the fourth-best local time of the day.

Luiz Orozco, McFarland, junior

Battled with Garcia for the top spot on the Cougars' deep team. Orozco finished third in the county (15:28) and second in the D-II section finals (15:53) to lead the Cougars to a team championship. Season best was a 15:05 at the Jim White Invitational.

Thomas Valles, McFarland, junior

Valles finished seventh in the county championships (15:47) and 12th in the section D-II championships (16:25) and ran the fourth-best local time at the state championships (16:38). Season-best was a 15:23 at the Jim White Invitational.

Second team

Joe Carranza, soph, Shafter

Manuel Carranza, soph, Shafter

Chris Garcia, sr, Foothill

Keane Kelley, jr, Stockdale

Trevor Martin, jr, Centennial

Tyler Moore, sr, West

Tyus Thompson, sr, Stockdale

Honorable mention

Arvin: Pedro Cruz

Bakersfield: Scott Van Matre

Foothill: Sam Magana, Richard Timmermans

Frontier: Kyle Lemminn

Highland: Ethan Machado

Liberty: Miguel Morales

McFarland: Ramiro Sepulveda, Yiovani Topete

North: Jacob Franco, Eduardo Lopez

Ridgeview: Ramon Flores, Anthony Moronez

Shafter: Jesus Sanchez

Stockdale: Matthew Wells

West: Keylan Meneses