Buy Photo

Photo by Kayleigh Peaker

Some of the winners from The Empty Space Awards, which were held Jan. 5 at Metro Galleries. From left: Kamala Kruszka (best featured performance — drama), Timothy Anthony and Emily Candia (best featured performances — comedy), and Josh Lubatti (best featured performance — drama).

The best and brightest of the 2013 season were recognized Sunday at the 11th annual Empty Space Awards, put on by the Oak Street theater. "Spring Awakening," a coming-of-age musical that opened the season, swept the awards with 17 Empties, including best director, debut and featured drama performances, ensemble and production.

Other standouts include actress Emily Candia, recognized for her work in "Charm," "A Midsummer Night's Dream" and "Our Town"; and theater founder Brian Sivesind, who was also recognized for his performance in the Shakespearian comedy as well as collaborations behind the scenes for set and sound design and directing "Spring Awakening."

The winners

Lead performance male -- drama

Taylor Lozano, "Spring Awakening"

Lead performance female -- drama

Alissa Morrow, "Wit"

Lead performance female -- comedy

Mariah Bathe, "Sweet Charity"

Lead performance male -- comedy

(TIE) Chris Burzlaff, "The Nerd"; and Brian Sivesind, "A Midsummer Night's Dream"

Supporting performance male -- drama

Shawn Rader, "Spring Awakening"

Supporting performance male -- comedy

Bob Kempf, "The 12 Plays Of Christmas"

Supporting performance female -- drama

Jenny Maddern, "Crimes of the Heart"

Supporting performance female -- comedy

Amy Hall, "Sweet Charity"

Breakthrough performance

Emily Candia, "Charm"

Featured performance female -- drama

Kamala Kruszka, "Spring Awakening"

Featured performance male -- drama

Joshua Lubatti, "Spring Awakening"

Featured performance male -- comedy

Timothy Anthony, "Cannibal! The Musical"

Featured performance female -- comedy

Emily Candia, "A Midsummer Night's Dream"

Debut performance -- male

Joshua Lubatti, "Spring Awakening"

Debut performance -- female

Taylor Dunn, "Spring Awakening"

Best couple

Taylor Dunn and Taylor Lozano, "Spring Awakening"

Best duo

Amy Hall and Bob Kempf, "Our Town"

Best stage fight

(TIE) The Four Lovers, "A Midsummer Night's Dream"; and Perrin Swanson vs. Miguel Torres, "Dog Sees God"

Best kiss

Taylor Dunn and Taylor Lozano, "Spring Awakening"

Best death scene

(TIE) Brian Sivesind, "A Midsummer Night's Dream"; and Shawn Rader, "Spring Awakening"

Stage manager

(TIE) Perrin Swanson, "Spring Awakening"; and Miranda Whipple, "A Midsummer Night's Dream"

Lighting design

Michael Mallinson, "Spring Awakening"

Set design

Kristina Saldana and Brian J. Sivesind, "Spring Awakening"

Costume design

Heidi Haarsager, "The 12 Plays Of Christmas"

Sound design

Adam Calvillo and Brian Sivesind, "Spring Awakening"

Gallery exhibit

"Curiouser and Curiouser" (Christina Sweet)

Special event

"The Role I Wasn't Born To Play"

Male actor of the year

Taylor Lozano ("Spring Awakening," "Cannibal! The Musical," "Our Town," "The 12 Plays of Christmas")

Female actor of the year

Emily Candia ("Charm," "A Midsummer Night's Dream," "Our Town")


Kristina Saldana and Brian Sivesind, "Spring Awakening"


"Spring Awakening"


"Spring Awakening"