Men's swimmer Dan Wickensheimer, a senior who has been a standout for four seasons, earned the President's Award for the top individual honor announced Monday night at Cal State Bakersfield's second annual Rowdys Awards.

The President's Award is presented annually to the Roadrunner who best exemplifies the student athlete ideal in terms of academics, athletics and community service.

Wickensheimer, who was born in Fort Wayne, Ind., and graduated from Stockdale High, has been outstanding in the backstroke, butterfly and freestyle throughout his Roadrunner career. The CSUB record-holder in the 100-yard butterfly, he has also been an honor roll student as a business administration major.

He has also been the most vocal Roadrunner from the stands in support of CSUB's athletic teams and athletes.

Other nominees for the award, all seniors, were men's basketball player Stephon Carter, women's basketball player Amber Williams and women's soccer player Erica Shelton.

The Rowdys Awards is CSUB's end-of-the-academic year event that celebrates the accomplishments of Roadrunner student athletes. Thirteen Roadrunner athletes won individual awards for 2012-13 and four team awards were given.

The "Best Moment" was split into two moments.

The first was CSUB athletics' October invitation and acceptance for membership in the Western Athletic Conference, effective this July 1. That will give the Roadrunners a conference home in all sports after seven years as a Division I independent following CSUB's move from NCAA Division II.

Sharing the award was Williams, who concluded her women's basketball career as CSUB's No. 2 all-time career scorer and No. 1 in Division I play. Williams was nominated for four other awards Monday.

Senior basketball player Stephon Carter, who became the Roadrunners' all-time leading career scorer last season, and softball player Laura King, who batted .344, earned Flachmann Awards, which go to the top all-around male and female student athletes.

Volleyball player Debora Araujo and baseball player Jeff McKenzie earned honors for the best female and male individual athletic contest, respectively. Araujo had 17 kills in CSUB's 3-2 win over New Mexico on Nov. 11. McKenzie was a four-time WAC Pitcher of the Week winner and the WAC Pitcher of the Year.

Wrestler Tyler Iwamura, who has a 3.5 grade-point average, was honored for Best Academic Performance and wrestler Dalton Kelly and water polo player Sam Shead were the male and female Roadrunners of the Year by the Student Athlete Advisory Committee.

Freshman wrestler Bryce Hammond earned the "Clutch Performer of the Year" honor after coming from behind to win the Pac-12 title at 174 pounds and qualify for the NCAA Nationals. Men's basketball player Javonte Maynor was named "Weight Room Warrior."

Freshman third baseman Mylz Jones from the baseball team was named "Newcomer of the Year" and women's soccer player Erica Shelton was voted "Unsung Hero."

The Kegley-McCall Award, which goes to the team with the highest cumulative grade point average, went to women's swimming, which beat out men's golf, volleyball and men's soccer. The women swimmers had a cumulative GPA of 3.159 in the fall quarter and 3.129 in the winter quarter.

Volleyball earned the "Best Team Turnaround" honor by going 14-17 last fall, compared to 8-18 in 2011 and 0-31 in 2010.

Men's and women's swimming won the Rudy Carvajal Community Service Award, named for CSUB's longtime athletic director who retired in 2011. Carvajal noted that CSUB's teams and athletes combined for more than 3,000 hours of community service for 25 different agencies.

Baseball, which finished as the WAC co-champion in its first season in that league, won the "Best Team Performance" award.