Kip Hearron is retiring as superintendent of the Panama-Buena Vista Union School District.

Panama-Buena Vista serves about 17,000 southwest Bakersfield students in kindergarten through eighth grade. It consists of 23 schools, most of them elementary schools. Five are junior high schools.

Hearron, formerly the district's assistant superintendent for educational services, was promoted to superintendent after Doug Miller retired in 2007.

His last day will be June 28.

Representatives from three consulting firms: Dave Long and Associates; Leadership Associates; and Kern County Superintendent of Schools office; have been invited to today's PBVUSD school board meeting to present proposals to conduct a search for Hearron's replacement. The meeting is 7 p.m., PBVUSD district headquarters, 4200 Ashe Road.

Two Kern County teams placed in the state We the People competition Saturday at Golden Valley High School, and we have their names.

Arvin High School took second place and Centennial High took third. The first place finisher was Amador Valley High School in Pleasanton, which will represent California in a national competition later this year.

Arvin could be selected as a "wild card" competitor at nationals if any of the first place winners are for some reason unable to send a team.

The Arvin High School team members were: Reymundo Aguilar, Veronica Avila, Angel Azipitarte, Mayra Bautista, Clara Bruno, Edgar Campos, Karen Clemente, Frances Escalera, Jessica Esquivel, Donna Europa, Estephanie Gomez, Nick Hernandez, Erick Herrera, Eva Lopez, David Martinez, Maneli Ortiz, Rafael Ramirez, Malcolm Rivera, Victor Rivera, Maria Sandoval, Desiree Valdez, Edith Vasquez, Elizabeth Vasquez, Mariela Vega, Lisset Zavala and Jose Zuniga,

The Centennial team members were:

Nayab Alam, Spencer Bateman, Sydney Campos, Chloe Carlson, Kymber Cates, Mei Mei Chan, Brittany Coleman, Jamie Clark, Chad Crawford, Ian Flowers, Gaby Forter, Jasdeep Gill, Heather Hansen, Madison Holmes, Nigel Kapoor, Marissa Manos, Austin Manzella, Grace Moore, Emily Moran, Salim Mussa, Raphael Natividad, Josh Park, Daniel Perez, Carissa Pope, Shelby Rothberg, Eric Samarripas, Emma Walsh and Josh White.

We the People measures knowledge and understanding of constitutional issues. Students present carefully researched legal arguments and respond to questions from lawyers and scholars.

The 26th annual We the People National Finals will be held April 26-29 on the campus of George Mason University in Washington, D.C., and in hearing rooms on Capitol Hill.